Ask Mr. Rules Book

Is it possible to defend the World Cup?

from Ralf (Germany)

Ralf’s question: Regarding the „defending a World Cup title” there is no clear answer inside the rule-book:
Can the winner of a production World Cup defend its World Cup title without qualifying if there are no championships but more than one World Cup during the year? Will the number of entries for the country where the production origins rise automatically + 1 ?

Bill’s answer: There is indeed nothing in the Rules book to allow defending champions in a World Cup Competitions. Whereas it is so well explained for World Championship, we do not allow World Cup Winners to defend their World Cup Title --> a Cup winner is no Champion but a Cup winner.